Shojoshinin

Shojoshinin Reviews

Shojoshinin

566 Koyasan, Koya Town, Ito District, Wakayama Prefecture, 648-0211, JapanView Hotel Details
Shojoshinin
ShojoshininShojoshininShojoshinin
Check available rooms for your travel dates
We Price Match
1 night

Shojoshinin Guest Reviews

4.5/5
Great
19 review
Verified reviews
Location4.5
Amenities4.4
Service4.5
Cleanliness4.5
Filter by:
Sort by:
All reviews(19)
Positive reviews(19)
Reviews with photos/video(4)
JDF
Japanese Room
Stayed in Apr 2024
Couples
1 review
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 7, 2024
Cool stay at a monastery in Koyasan! As far as I understand, Shojoshin-in is one of the larger temple lodgings in Koyasan. Our room had an amazing view (koi pond and forest) from the tea room. All our basic needs are met including amenities. They served authentic Japanese vegan meals; I particularly enjoyed the dinner as it had a large variety of small dishes. Keep in mind this is Japanese style lodging, where you have a shared bath with other guests.
Guest User
Japanese Room
Stayed in Mar 2024
Couples
1 review
4.7/5
Amazing
Posted on Mar 23, 2024
An amazing experience The service was respectful and the fire ceremony & morning prayers were such a experience to be able to be a part of
Guest User
Japanese Room
Stayed in Jan 2024
Family
1 review
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 7, 2024
We would have preferred a thicker tatami. Otherwise the place is really an adventure to remember. Dont miss the 4pm temple tour and 6:30am morning service.
Guest User
Japanese Room
Stayed in Nov 2023
Friends
1 review
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Nov 28, 2023
The temple is well organised and staff are helpful, We experienced a quiet and tranquil time there especially in morning prayer and temple tour.
Ryan
Japanese Room
Stayed in Mar 2024
Couples
3 review
4.7/5
Amazing
Posted on Apr 2, 2024
Fantastic place. But note u can’t shower in the morning
AlfredA
Japanese Room
Stayed in May 2023
Solo travelers
9 review
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 27, 2023
Very good travelling experience and traditional meal in japan temple.
Guest User
Japanese Room
Stayed in Oct 2023
Couples
1 review
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Oct 2, 2023
amazing place! everything was perfect (dinner, breakfast, location, staff, room)! Highly recommended. If you can, stay for atleast two nights.
Anonymous User
Japanese Room
Stayed in Apr 2024
Couples
1 review
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 17, 2024
The hotel and venue exceeded all expectations
Anonymous User
Japanese Room
Stayed in Nov 2022
Couples
10 review
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Nov 7, 2022
Room was clean and nice. Shared bathroom, which is a little inconvenient. Overall it's a great experience.
Guest User
Japanese Room
Stayed in Oct 2023
Solo travelers
1 review
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Oct 19, 2023
All perfect! I stayed here for one night on 18th October. The location is excellent, it is the temple closest to the entrance to the cemetery (this allowed me to take a night tour given its proximity). The rooms are Japanese style and equipped with a heater if it gets too cold. They also provide a kimono to sleep in, and towels. The bathroom was shared, clean. The thermal bath too. Very good and varied vegetarian meals. At 6.30 in the morning it is possible to follow the prayer. There are some monks who can speak English, very helpful! Really advantageous value for money!
Original TextTranslated by Google
Guest User
Japanese Room
Stayed in Mar 2024
Solo travelers
5 review
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 16, 2024
Very satisfied, will go again
Original TextTranslated by Google
Guest User
Japanese Room
Stayed in Jan 2023
Solo travelers
2 review
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jan 7, 2023
The location is very convenient, the breakfast is very good! the toilet is a bit far
Original TextTranslated by Google
Guide04286715072
Stayed in May 2024
Other
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 8, 2024
Wonderful temple stay. The temple is next to the cemetery so very quiet. The traditional accommodations overlooked a beautiful garden. The food was terrific. I wish we stayed more than one night. Only comment, it's not clear/brought to your attention when you check in when tours of the temple itself are available, so we missed out on that, be sure to look at the schedule when you check in.
Guest User
Stayed in Oct 2023
Other
0 review
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Oct 12, 2023
We booked a temple stay at Shojoshin-in directly through their website as this was our first choice and we had heard that other Japanese Temple Stay sites give you one of three choices. The Japanese style accommodations are very authentic -in original buildings with lots of wood, tatami, and a beautiful garden view from the rooms. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, the shared toilets very clean and the private onsen was very appreciated. The multi-course dinner and breakfasts which we had in a private room were very tasty and beautifully presented. We loved the proximity to Okunoin cemetery and visited there at night and the next day. Some of us also attended the prayer service in the morning and were able to talk with the monks and receive a short tour after the ceremony. We had always wanted to experience an authentic temple stay in Koya-san and Shojoshin-in was perfect for us. If you are looking for a more commercial, westernized experience, there are other good temples which cater to these tourists. However, if you want to experience an authentic Japanese temple stay, Shojoshin-in is the place!
Guest User
Stayed in Apr 2024
Friends
0 review
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Apr 7, 2024
Stayed in a small room with a shower and toilet in the room. Slept well on the Futon with very nice duvets. Very touristy. No experience to become zen. Had the idea that there were no monks but staff dressed in dressing gowns. Good location in the village. Simple food but a beautiful experience
Original TextTranslated by Google